It’s a normal occurrence for my mind to wander during the day.  What it wanders to however, is almost always extraordinary.  At least it’s extraordinary to me.

Yesterday my mind wandered deep into the Canadian wilderness. I imagined myself paddling across a lake at dusk towards a little cabin.  The smell of a campfire filled the dimly lit air around me.  It was completely peaceful, the only sounds, the distant call of a loon and the slap of the fish jumping as they re-entered the water.  Of course, when I came back to reality I was staring down a city street, hoping to get back to that sense of freedom.

I have rarely felt as free as I do immersed in the outdoors, and in the spirit of that I thought I would capture the concept with this.

Not many people really know what it’s like to be truly freed.

But trust me my friend, I’m of a different breed.

Take an old back road right to its end.

That’s where you might find me my friend.

Follow that broken path all the way up river.

It may take all night, so dress warm to fend off a shiver.

Build a raft if you must to set off across the lake.

If you get far enough in, freedom is yours to take.

Wander for a day, or a week, or a year if you must.

To really find me, into this world you must be thrust.

Immerse yourself in the tranquility of the forest.

When you find me there you will be completely at rest.

Get lost amidst the forest, then stop on the shore under a shady tree.

Take it all in.  Breathe in the air.  Now you know what it’s like to be free.

 

I hope everyone who reads this has a great weekend, and has that chance to really drink life in.

Cheers.  BD

