Yesterday was a lucky day for me.  I had an easy work day, so I managed to sneak in a long lunch sitting by Dow’s Lake in Ottawa.  It’s always nice to be able to pause by the lake any day, but in the middle of your work day it’s exceptional.

Every chance I get to just relax by the lake or in the country somewhere, I also get the chance to reflect on the things that disappoint me in the hustle and bustle of everyday life and how much I love just taking in nature.

It is always refreshing to take in life by the lake.

Such a perfect way to get your nature intake.

The waves gently lapping on the shore.

Instead of shoes thudding past on a floor.

No crowds of people, just flocks of geese.

Patrolling the shoreline like nature’s police.

Hissing and honking in their occasional disappointment.

When a person or animal nears their appointment.

Kayakers and Canoers paddle past at a gentle pace.

The exact opposite of the grind of the daily race.

Their smooth gliding motion looks so relaxed.

Why we all don’t do this every day has me perplexed.

If only every moment could be taken in immersed in nature.

By the lake, this world would surely be a very different creature.

