From my window I can see the Gatineau Hills rising up just beyond the skyline of the city.  Often during the day when I have the chance to look, I find myself drawn to them.  Being drawn out of the city and into the forest to hike, canoe, or just relax along the shore of one of the lakes scattered throughout the hills.  That’s a place worth being lost in.

Off in the distance, I can see the trees and hills.

Out there in the forest is where I find my thrills.

On top of a hill taking in a colourful sunset.

Amongst the trees on a run, working up a sweat.

Off in the distance, I can see the lake.

Out there on the shore, some relaxation I’ll take.

On a boat, I’ll be reeling in a record bass.

Immersed in the water, time will quickly pass.

Off in the distance, I can see a cabin on a stream.

Out there in the woods, is where I let off steam.

On an old wood bench, warming by a campfire.

Taking in the evening before I retire.

Off in the distance is where I want to be.

Out there in the wild, it’s only beauty I see.

