With all this ice and snow it’s part of the day to slip and slide all over, but what I find more than anything right now is my mind slipping and sliding to thinking about something over and over.  No matter how much I try to avoid thinking about it, no matter what distractions I fill my days with, my mind keeps sliding into these thoughts that I wake to and fall asleep to every day.

It’s a lonely place thinking of this, but the thoughts always bring me a smile.  I’ll take a happy moment every time, even if it’s just in my head.

Sliding in,

To where I was.

Letting her win,

Just because.

Slipping down,

Far below.

Spinning aroun’,

Down I go.

Falling back,

Nearing bottom.

A way out I lack,

The way forgotten.

Stuck instead, sliding back in,

This desolate place, gets under my skin.

