It helps to let go of the past, but sometimes you just can’t.  You have to come to terms with it, no matter how hard it is to do that.

For me the best way to do that is to put it to a page, write it down and read it over a few times to let it sink in.  One of the things that was taken away from me in those tough years that I’ve left behind was my ability and desire to write.

Every time I put a pen to a blank piece of paper my mind just went blank.  Sometimes I got a few lines down before I stopped writing, sometimes a whole page, it depended solely on how long I had been away from her.  A day could lead to a few sentences, a week a page or two, but no matter what it stopped when she returned and the judgement came down about wasting my time writing.

Now I turn to writing to let my imagination run wild, and can it ever run without the constraints of the past.

I feel better getting this pain off my chest.

Letting it out this way is for the best.

Writing it down for myself to see,

Can only make things easier for me.

A trying time I left behind,

After it all, myself I will still find.

Sure it hurts to see it again,

But it’s now just a lesson I learned back then.

A painful era that crafted a better man,

Still I’m becoming him, but I know that I can.

Yes, I still have a long way to go,

But I’ll be there one day, I know.

Writing about it helps to get it all out,

Lessening my fear, shattering my doubt.

