I missed the initial performance of this song, but its words hold a very significant meaning to me.  Miranda Lambert‘s Tin Man, was performed at the Academy of Country Music Awards ceremony Sunday April 2, 2017, live and acoustic.  It was a beautiful rendition of a feeling that often occurs and the words to describe it escape many of us.

There have been a few times in my life where I would have gladly traded in my heart for some armor or even a shield.  I would have taken being completely emotionless over being heartbroken.

The funny thing to me has always been that no matter how willingly I have given my heart, I always noticed that I didn’t get that same thing back.  Still, I tried to give it all.

When I love, I love with all of me,

But that I do has been taken for free.

It’s taken for granted and has been mistreated,

Leaving my heart more and more depleted.

Used and abused, feeling like that should be lost never,

Because when I give my heart I plan on forever.

Stabbed in the back, and stomped into the ground,

In its own emotion my heart has been drowned.

I give it and it’s taken, squeezed for all it’s worth,

There’s no worse feeling on this entire earth.

Broken when I get it back, drained of all emotion.

I’d rather not have it, if the return lacks devotion.

Sick of wanting to give it, it just gets torn apart.

It would be much easier, to be without a heart.

 

I always appreciate finding inspiration in something, and draw a lot from music.  My love of music knows no boundaries, and with many songs I hear, I find little pieces of them that speak to me in one way or another, or remind me of something in my life.  For that I am thankful, and because of this I find the hardest days of my life more bearable and the good days are all the better with a soundtrack.

